Skip to main content

Global Goals

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), otherwise known as the 2030 Agenda, are a group of 17 goals and 169 targets. The SDGs build on the success of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) and were adopted by all 193 member states of the United Nations in 2015. The SDGs represent a shared global development agenda, balancing people, planet, and prosperity and focused on leaving no one behind while achieving the future we want.

Los Angeles stands at the forefront of this movement in its city-wide effort to align plans and goals to the SDGs, while also mobilizing multi-stakeholder partnerships and new initiatives. In its effort to use the SDGs as a platform for partnership around priority issues, L.A. hopes to establish a local framework to serve as a model for cities around the world.

As part of the City of Los Angeles' commitment to adopt and implement the SDGs, the city has, where applicable, localized the national targets to align to City government plans and policies. Read more about the City's implementation process and data reporting status.

Click on the icons below to learn more about each Sustainable Development Goal!

Development Goal - No Poverty

Development Goal - Zero Hunger

Development Goal - Health

Development Goal - Education

Development Goal - Gender Equality

Development Goal - Water and Sanitation

Development Goal - Affordable Clean Energy

Development Goal - Work and Economic Growth

Development Goal - Industry, Innovation, and Infrastructure

Development Goal - Reduced Inequality

Development Goal - Sustainable Cities and Communities

Development Goal - Responsible Consumption and Production

Development Goal - Climate Action

Development Goal - Life Below Water

Development Goal - Life on Land

Development Goal - Peace, Justice, and Strong Institutions

Development Goal - Partnerships for Goals

LA SDG Wheel